Footloose

I had the privilege to attend the preview screening of Footloose courtesy of ShowFilmFirst last Wednesday. Since I received double pass to watch it at Ritz Cinema, Randwick, I invited my friend, Renae, along.


Footloose is a remake of the 1984 musical film incorporating dance choreography and the rebellion side of teenagers. The movie revolves around a city kid, Ren McCormack who moves to a small town, Bomont and Ariel, a troubled but beautiful blonde. Ren found it difficult to fit in a town where rock music and dancing have been banned by Ariel’s father, a church minister due to an accident in the town few years back.

The premise of the movie is typical of any American dance film where the troublemaker is given an opportunity to make amends and the protagonist finds the courage to initiate battle to abolish the outdated ban. I think the movie is a mix between Step Up/Step Up 2 and Raise Your Voice, where dancing comes from the former and the twist in the accident comes from the latter.

I have not watched the 1984 Footloose so it is difficult for me to compare but overall I enjoyed the movie. The dance moves and foot dancing were remarkable despite the fact that there was nothing really new to it if compared to the original music video. The movie started off really well with the thunderous music and took a turn with the accident which took me by surprise as I did not watch the trailer beforehand.

Although Kenny Wormald and Julianne Hough are new faces, I would say they acted really well, especially Wormald who exhibited such great emotions when he reminisced of his memories with his deceased mother and the reason why dancing meant so much to him. Miles Teller, who was given the role of Willard, brought out humour in the movie as he portrayed his character as the friend who has no skills in dancing whatsoever. His character certainly cracked up the audience and laughter could be heard ringing in the movie theatre as Teller learnt how to dance, slowly picking up the skills throughout the movie.

I enjoyed all the songs in the movie, from the classic Footloose soundtrack by Kenny Loggins to the final song Dance the Night Away. The songs kept me moving to the beat, and each and every song suit each part of the movie so well that they just complete the movie as a whole.

The movie displays excellent moral values regarding family ties, dealing with emotions, the love parents have for their children and the sacrifices they make as well as the age gap between parents and their children.

Rating: 8/10

Footloose will be entering the cinemas in Australia tomorrow so people, Cut Footloose!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. kerlynn says:

    =D Great now I can’t wait to watch it!

  2. Renae says:

    haha… it was my privilege to be chosen to watch it with you as well, thank you Judy^^ It was my first time to attend preview screening, I really enjoyed it… also enjoy your movie review, well done Judy. I think I can improve my english from your blog =p

Leave a Reply

