The Little Snail

50 Murray Street Pyrmont NSW
Sydney (Australia)
T: 02 9212 7512

When Su and Michael came down to Sydney on the 19th of October, I was so excited as it is her first time visiting me here! Unfortunately, it was my last weekend before exams and I could only spare a few hours away from my notes. So, we decided to head to The Little Snail to catch up and celebrate Su’s birthday.

We opt to try their 3 course lunch. For $38, we could have our choice of entree, main and dessert.

For the entree, I was quite torn between Escargot de Bourgogne and Salmon Roulade filled with herb cheese mousseline, served with potato nest and passion fruit dressing. After much thought, I decided to go for their signature dish, the escargot. After all, the restaurant is named The Little Snail- the escargot must be their specialty. And I was actually quite curious to try it- feeling adventurous (hehe).

Looks good, doesn’t it?

Escargot de Bourgogne
Escargot de Bourgogne

The dozen snails marinated in herb-infused court bouillon, oven baked in garlic butter was aromatic. The snail itself doesn’t have much taste to it but the garlic butter complimented it. However, one might find that the garlic butter overpowered the simplicity of the escargot.

Su, on the other hand, went for the mushroom and leek crepe.

Mushroom and Leek Crepe
Mushroom and Leek Crepe

Besides the savoury crepes at Pancakes on The Rocks, I seldom come across savoury crepe. Su offered me a taste of her dish and all I can say is the crepe filled with baby mushroom, leek, chives, and cauliflower puree served with Breton sauce was really top-notch.  It is really different to the norm. The crepe itself is really thin and light and the filling was splendid- the ingredients really go well together.

So far everything is going well and I was quite excited to try the main despite the fact that I had quite a tough time deciding on the main in the beginning because none of the options really strike out.

For my main, I chose the veal tenderloin served with piquant cream sauce of smoked bacon, shallot, and sun ripened tomatoes, served with potato croquette and seasonal greens.

Veal Tenderloin
Veal Tenderloin

This dish is just so-so. It was well-cooked but nothing really remarkable about it and I found the sauce to be too rich and too salty for the veal. The sauce is quite similar to how you might make a homemade carbonara pasta sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu
Chicken Cordon Bleu

Michael chose the chicken Cordon Bleu, skin free chicken breast fillet stuffed with ham and Swiss cheese, lightly coated with panko and topped with tomato and basil coulis and Su had the fillet of Beef Tenderloin served with potato millefeuille and red wine jus.

Fillet of Beef Tenderloin
Fillet of Beef Tenderloin

This dish is quite unique but might not be right for everyone as the red wine jus is quite strong. I, myself didn’t take a liking to it.

For dessert, Su had the handmade profiteroles with crème patissiere and mint chocolate sauce

Handmade Profiteroles
Handmade Profiteroles

and Michael, the warm sticky date pudding with butterscotch and French vanilla ice cream.

Warm Sitcky Date Pudding
Warm Sitcky Date Pudding

Both dessert had presentable plating.

Kahlua Infused Chocolate Mousse
Kahlua Infused Chocolate Mousse

My dessert choice was the Kahlua infused Chocolate Mousse which I found quite distasteful. It was way too sweet for me and I could barely bring myself to finish it.

Overall, I think this restaurant is worth trying if you are up for something new and different in Sydney and the price is quite reasonable. The entrees are pretty good but their mains not so. Perhaps, it would do them well to make some changes to their mains’ options. The interior-wise of the restaurant is quite simple, nothing grand but my complaint would be about their service.

As it was Su’s birthday the next day, I told the waiter to prepare a special dessert for her but either he didn’t care or didn’t bother remembering as nothing showed up and I left the restaurant with a heavy heart, still hoping till the last minute that the surprise would show up. I was pretty disappointed as I wanted it to be a celebration worth remembering.

Food-6.5/10
Ambience-6/10
Service-6.5/10
Price – $$

Leave a Reply

